Stages Of General Anaesthesia

Surgical anaesthesia is classically divided into four stages: analgesia, delirium, surgical anaesthesia (subdivided into four planes), and medullary paralysis (overdose). This gradual procession of stages was described when ether was given to un-premedicated patients, a slow unpleasant process. Ether is obsolete and the speed of induction with modern inhalational agents or intravenous anaesthesia drugs makes a detailed description of these separate stages superfluous.

Balanced surgical anaesthesia (hypnosis with analgesia and muscular relaxation) with a single drug requires high doses that will cause adverse effects such as slow and unpleasant recovery, and depression of cardiovascular and respiratory function. In modern practice, different drugs are used to attain each objective so that adverse effects are minimised.

Hypnotism and Self Hypnosis v2

Hypnotism and Self Hypnosis v2

HYPNOTISM is by no means a new art. True, it has been developed into a science in comparatively recent years. But the principles of thought control have been used for thousands of years in India, ancient Egypt, among the Persians, Chinese and in many other ancient lands. Learn more within this guide.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment